//
you're reading...
Adenan Satem, Sarawak, Sarawak Christians, Sarawakian

Sarawakian Christians assured of freedom to worship

AlKitabAS a Sarawakian Christian, I have never felt that I was unable to practise my religion freely.

There has never been a time living in my State that I’ve felt oppressed or unable to worship without restrictions.

In recent times we have seen that this is not the case in other states in this country. That’s why the assurance of our Chief Minister that I can continue to do so in Sarawak meant so much.

Datuk Patinggi Adenan also stated clearly that I can freely call my God ‘Allah’ as Sarawakian Christians before me have for more than 100 years.

“I want to give this assurance here today that for as long as I am still your Chief Minister, all Christians, irrespective of which denominations they belong to, Catholic, Anglican, SIB (Sidang Injil Borneo) and others, you need not have to worry,” he said.

“You all can exercise your beliefs freely and without worries. I am a Malay Muslim but I am the Chief Minister for all regardless of race, religion and background and I cannot tell people how they should pray to their God.”

How refreshing and reassuring to know that the CM feels this way.

“We are not going to allow what happens in Peninsular Malaysia to spread over here. This is Sarawak, not Peninsular Malaysia,” he stated.

“We respect one another. My religion is mine and yours is yours. We have no problem with that.”

The CM put it perfectly.

God bless us, Sarawakians, every one!

The story from The Borneo Post:

Blessed assurance

By Johnson K Saai

Adenan promises Christians in the state freedom to practise their faith, use the word ‘Allah’ as long as he is the CM

SERIAN: Christians of all denominations in the state have been assured by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem, that they can practise their religion without any hindrance as long as he leads the state government.

He also declared that like over the years, the state government had no objection to the use of the word ‘Allah’ by Christians in the state in their Bible and it would remain so.

“I want to give this assurance here today that for as long as I am still your Chief Minister, all Christians, irrespective of which denominations they belong to, Catholic, Anglican, SIB (Sidang Injil Borneo) and others, you need not have to worry.

“You all can exercise your beliefs freely and without worries. I am a Malay Muslim but I am the Chief Minister for all regardless of race, religion and background and I cannot tell people how they should pray to their God,” he said.

He gave these assurances when speaking at the presentation of land titles to native customary rights (NCR) land owners at the Dewan Suarah here yesterday.

“We are not going to allow what happens in Peninsular Malaysia to spread over here. This is Sarawak, not Peninsular Malaysia,” he stated.

He said no one should ever try to destroy the peace and harmony prevailing in the state despite its diverse people belonging to about 40 ethnic groups with different religions and beliefs.

“We respect one another. My religion is mine and yours is yours. We have no problem with that,” he said.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

