//
you're reading...
Malaysia, Sarawak, Sarawakian

Why I cheer for Liverpool

AS I write this, Liverpool FC is playing the Malaysian team.

I hope Kenny Dalglish’s boys cane the home team.

Unpatriotic you may call me. But there is no reason for me to support the team.

While purportedly representing MALAYSIAN football, they bear the name Harimau MALAYA.

As far as I know, Malaya ceased to exist in 1963 with the formation of MALAYSIA.

Why in heaven’s name would you give a name to a team which EXCLUDES Sarawak and Sabah?

Why couldn’t they have called it Harimau Malaysia???

As sad as it is, I don’t think anyone involved in the decision to name the team Harimau MALAYA even gave a second thought to the feelings of Malaysians, other than those from MALAYA of course.

As a Sarawakian, or a Sabahan, why should I support a team which does NOT show any respect, or support, for me as a Malaysian?

At least when I scream my lungs out for Liverpool, at least I know I will never walk alone …

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Why I cheer for Liverpool

  1. See at least we would be considerate enough to call them Malaysian Crocs!

    Posted by Parochial Sarawakian | July 16, 2011, 20:05
  2. In the United States of America. They still cling proudly to that Confederate flag of theirs. I guess Harimau Malaya evokes the nostalgia of a bygone era when the states of Borneo were not part of the Federation. Anyway, I dream of a day when all the players in our State team will be good enough to form the national team’s first team. Then we can call the squad the Malaysian Crocs. One day. One day. You’ll never walk alone you crocs!

    Posted by rimau atas kerusi | July 16, 2011, 19:44

Leave a Reply

Categories

